Burnetts logo

InfoLawUpdate - Cyber Essential Scheme

Burnetts' information law solicitor Natalie Ruane discusses the new Cyber Essential Scheme.

The new Cyber Essential Scheme recently launched by the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (“BIS”) identifies security controls that will help organisations mitigate the risk to their IT system from internet-based threats. 

Within the context of the “10 steps to cyber security” there are 5 essential mitigations.

  1. Boundary firewalls and internet gateways
  2. Secure configuration of systems
  3. Limited access control
  4. Malware protection
  5. Patch management

The scheme provides organisations with guidance on implementation as well as offering independent certification for those who want it.  The scheme focuses on the core set of actions the businesses should be taking to protect themselves, their customers and their brand.

About the author

Natalie Ruane profile photo

Natalie Ruane

Natalie is a Partner and leads the Employment Law & HR team and specialises in education.

Published: Wednesday 9th July 2014
Categorised: Information Law

All Factsheets